South Sudan Name Afcon Squad


By Salawudeen Olawale

South Sudan have named 10 foreign-based players in their 18-man squad to travel to Djibouti for Wednesday’ opening match of the 2019 African Nations Cup qualifiers.

South Sudan, who have only won a single game previously in the qualifiers, are away in the first leg with the return game in June as they seek to advance to the group phase of the preliminaries, which kick off in June.

Nine of the squad members are from clubs in neighbouring Sudan and one from Kuwait.


Goalkeepers: David Alfred (Al Hilal Juba), Jenaro Guma (Al Hilal, Sudan)

Defenders: Zacharia Benesio (Al Merriekh Kosti, Sudan), David Dada (Malakia), Yassir Khamis (Kator), Deng Magek (Police FC Gaderif, Sudan), Zacharia Scopas (Atlabara), Ater Thomas (Al Fahaheel, Kuwait)

Midfielders: Dominic Aboy (Al Watani, Sudan), Peter Dusmna (Atlabara), Aguer Joseph (Al Khartoum, Sudan), Tong Kong (Al Hilal Kadugli, Sudan), Isaac Mattia (Ahli Gaderif, Sudan), Robert Wurube (Atlabara)

Forwards: Aluk Akech (Police FC Gaderif, Sudan), Khamis Leon (Al Merriekh Juba), Atak Lual (Al Ahli Shendi, Sudan), Stephen Pawaar (Al Amarat).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *