Delta Speaker Kidnap: Eight Sentenced To Life Imprisonment

images (1)

An ex-soldier and seven other suspected kidnappers have been sentenced to life in imprisonment by a Delta State High Court sitting in Kwale for the abduction of the Speaker of state House of Assembly, Mr. Monday Igbuya on May 21, 2009 at Sapele, the administrative headquarters of Sapele Local Government Council.

A statement released by Mr. Ivovi Aruoriwo, Public Relations Officer, Delta State Ministry of Justice today gave the names of the convicted to include Godspower Ikoro, Godspower omoniyi (an ex-soldier), Ernest Atteh, John Adapamu, Ife Freedom, Sunday Uba Tiemo, Kemi koinyang and Isaiah Mumbor.
According to the statement, Justice O. Jaloggo-Williams found the eight accused persons guilty on two-count charge of kidnapping and demanding property with menace; and sentenced them to 10 years each with hard Labour for kidnapping; and three years each for demanding N100m with menaces.

The judge ruled that the accused were responsible for the kidnap of the Speaker, who was then a first timer at the Delta State House of Assembly and held that the sentences were to run concurrently.

The convicts were charged under the Criminal Code Law Section 364 (I.) and (in.) which prescribed 10-years jail term for offenders before the Delta House of Assembly enacted Anti-Kidnapping Law in 2016, which now prescribed life imprisonment for offenders.

The statement read, “The eight accused persons who were charged to court after their arrest by Security Agents on Charge No S/1c/2010 were later transferred from the Sapele High Court in 2011 to Kwale for trial on a six-count charge of conspiracy to commit a felony to wit, kidnapping, armed robbery and the substantive case of kidnap of Monday Igbuya and demanding with menace the sum of N100m as ransom.”

Justice Jaloggo-Williams however discharged the convicts on the count of armed robbery for lack of sufficient evidence by the prosecution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *